One Day I’ll Conquer Photoshop

Photoshop was extremely difficult, especially since at first I was working with a corrupted Photoshop, but even when I switched to a working program it took me a long time to figure out the steps. Picmonkey is much easier, but of course has less options than Photoshop does. However, I definitely do prefer Photoshop over Paint which is ridiculously limited. Also, my full body shot came out wrong as I came to realize my feet were not showing and that would be hard to place into a photo, so I had a friend retake it later in the day. On a more positive note, I have gotten the hang of getting rid of the background using the magic eraser tool and the regular eraser tool. I’ve also discovered that the polygonal lasso tool is useful for placing images in the right spot on a background. The most difficult part was trying to get rid of an object in the background. The spot healing tool told me to use option to select a source point. I looked that up on Google and apparently I’m supposed to use the option on the keyboard. I still don’t think I did that right. The filters are fairly easy to use. A really helpful tip for using Photoshop is to make sure the right layer is selected and to save your work. While this was an extremely frustrating experience, I see that there is so much potential with Photoshop to create amazing images that I hope to learn how to use it more efficiently in the future, although that might take me awhile. Check out my original and edited photos!

Image

original headshot

Image

edited headshot with background deletion and color addition

Image

original full body shot

Image

original landscape

Image

edited landscape with full body picture

Leave a comment